Review: Chimes at Midnight (October Daye #7) by Seanan McGuire

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Publisher: DAW (September 3, 2013)
How I got this book: Bought
Links: Amazon Goodreads

Blurb from Goodreads:

Things are starting to look up for October “Toby” Daye. She’s training her squire, doing her job, and has finally allowed herself to grow closer to the local King of Cats. It seems like her life may finally be settling down…at least until dead changelings start appearing in the alleys of San Francisco, killed by an overdose of goblin fruit.

Toby’s efforts to take the problem to the Queen of the Mists are met with harsh reprisals, leaving her under sentence of exile from her home and everyone she loves. Now Toby must find a way to reverse the Queens decree, get the goblin fruit off the streets–and, oh, yes, save her own life, since more than a few of her problems have once again followed her home. And then there’s the question of the Queen herself, who seems increasingly unlikely to have a valid claim to the throne….

To find the answers, October and her friends will have to travel from the legendary Library of Stars into the hidden depths of the Kingdom of the Mists–and they’ll have to do it fast, because time is running out. In faerie, some fates are worse than death.

October Daye is about to find out what they are.

My rating: 4/5 Stars – A good read. I really enjoyed it.

Review: 

I love the plot of Chimes at Midnight.  Big things are happening in Toby’s world, and it’s awesome.  There’s not only major character development, but also interesting, new characters that I’m excited to get to know.  As always, the worldbuilding is a major highlight.  This time, we get to explore the Library with magic fireflies and learn about blood magic, faerie dogs, royalty, and more.

Usually, I’m somewhat depressed (or at least emotionally drained) by the end of one of Toby’s adventures, but that didn’t happen this time around.  There are certainly several gut-wrenching, nail-biting moments, but overall the story’s tone is hopeful and optimistic.  I’m enjoying it while it lasts because some clues are dropped about the big bad (someone named Eira?), and it’s inevitable that Toby is going to run up against this villain in epically bloody fashion.  In any case, I’m really looking forward to finding out what happens.

My only criticism about Chimes is that I’m tired of hearing about certain Toby traits – her love of coffee, her propensity for getting into trouble, doing crazy/dangerous things, hurting herself, etc.  I think by now that these things are firmly established as part of her character and don’t need to be reiterated again and again.  There’s also a lot of traveling from place to place and logistics I could do without, but thankfully it doesn’t slow down the plot.

Overall, Chimes at Midnight is a satisfying installment in the series that expands the Toby-verse in fascinating, new directions.  I’m already looking forward to book eight!

4stars

Reading Order:

  1. Rosemary and Rue read my 4 star review
  2. A Local Habitation read my 3.5 star review
  3. An Artificial Night read my 4.5 star review
  4. Late Eclipses read my 4.5 star review
  5. One Salt Sea read my 4.5 star review
  6. Ashes of Honor read my 4.5 star review
  7. Chimes at Midnight

Also reviewed at:

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

