Audiobook Spotlight: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams

I recently finished listening to Douglas Adams’ wonderful Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series.  I read the first book in print several years ago (and loved it), but I never got around to reading the rest of the series.  So when I saw that Audible had the other four books available – narrated by Marin Freeman of Sherlock and The Hobbit fame, no less – I had to give them a try.  I am so glad I did!

As with any audiobook, a good narrator is essential, and Martin Freeman (who played Arthur Dent in the 2005 Hitchhiker’s Guide movie) really makes the novels come alive with his outstanding voice acting.  It took me almost all of 2013 to listen to the whole series, but I finally finished it.  So, without further ado, here are my mini-reviews of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy books two through five:

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (HG2G #2)

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe is a bizarre, clever, hilarious adventure.  Martin Freeman is an outstanding narrator with diverse, amusing voices that perfectly capture each character.  I can’t wait to listen to the rest of the series, which I hope is just as fun and engaging as this installment.

 

Life, the Universe and Everything (HG2G #3)

My Rating: 5/5 Stars –

A strange, hilarious adventure, as always!  Truly a delightful listening experience.

 

 

 

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish (HG2G #4)

My Rating: 4/5 Stars –

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish is set apart from the other Hitchhiker books in that it deals heavily with Arthur Dent’s love life.  But, despite the differences in pacing and tone, it’s still an amusing, enjoyable listen with an ending that made me remember why I fell in love with these books in the first place.

 

Mostly Harmless (HG2G #5)

My rating: 3/5 Stars –

A fun story, but it really dragged at certain points.  I’m also a bit disappointed with the ending.  (It makes me want to read Eoin Colfer’s follow-up And Another Thing… just so the series doesn’t have to end like this.)  But, overall, I still enjoyed Mostly Harmless.  I would definitely recommend the Hitchhiker’s Guide series as a whole, even if this last installment isn’t my favorite.

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

