Review: Liar’s Moon (Thief Errant #2) by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Format: Hardback
Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books/Scholastic (November 1, 2011)
How I got this book: Bought
Links: Amazon Goodreads

Blurb from Goodreads:

Prisons, poisons, and passions combine in a gorgeously written fantasy noir.

As a pickpocket, Digger expects to spend a night in jail every now and then. But she doesn’t expect to find Lord Durrel Decath there as well–or to hear he’s soon to be executed for killing his wife. 

Durrel once saved Digger’s life, and when she goes free, she decides to use her skills as a thief, forger, and spy to return the favor. But each new clue only opens up new mysteries. Durrel’s late wife had an illegal business on the wrong side of the civil war raging just outside the city gates. Digger keeps finding forbidden magic in places it has no reason to be. 

And for a thief in a town full of liars, sometimes it doesn’t pay to know the truth.

My rating: 4.5/5 Stars – Almost perfect. I highly recommend it.

Review: 

Liar’s Moon is an excellent follow-up to StarCrossed.  I loved the mystery, the twists and turns, and the layered worldbuilding.  Although I missed some of the characters from the first book, especially Prince Wierolf, I enjoyed getting to know Durrel, Raffin, Lord Ragn, Koya, Cwalo, and the rest of the supporting cast.  Also, the tense scenes between Digger and her estranged brother Werne were perhaps the most compelling parts of the entire novel.

One element that I really liked about StarCrossed was that the mystery took center stage without any romance to distract from the main plot.  But Liar’s Moon doesn’t stick to that formula.  While the mystery is still the main focus of the story, there is also a strong romantic subplot.  At first, I didn’t particularly like Durrel as a love interest.  He seems to have a thing for damsels in distress, like he always needs to save and protect the women in his life.  But Digger is by no means a girl who needs (or wants) saving; she’s the hero of her own story.  It wasn’t until Durrel finally seemed to accept this that I started to warm up to him.  Overall, I wasn’t thrilled with the romantic angle, but it didn’t significantly detract from my enjoyment of the novel.

Lastly, I cannot end this review without addressing the ending of Liar’s Moon.  (No spoilers.)  The publisher has dropped the rest of the Thief Errant series, and it’s unclear when, if ever, the third book will be published.  On the plus side, Liar’s Moon is a self-contained story.  The mystery and all the major plot threads are wrapped up, and we do find out what happens with Wierolf’s army.  (If we hadn’t, I’d have thrown the book across the room.)  However, the very last page of the novel introduces a major twist that has the potential to make Digger’s life very interesting and awkward.  I can’t say I like this development, but since I may never read the continuation of the story, I’m choosing to simply ignore the last page.  Please don’t let the ending stop you from reading Liar’s Moon; as long as you disregard the random final scene that has no bearing on the novel’s plot, you’ll definitely find this book satisfying.

I will conclude with a sincere plea to publishers everywhere: please, someone, publish the rest of this amazing series.  I cannot describe how excited I would be for another chance to spend time in this fantastic setting with characters I’ve grown to love.  This is a great series, and it deserves the chance to play out.

4.5stars

Reading Order:

  1. StarCrossed – read my 4.5 star review on Goodreads
  2. Liar’s Moon

Also reviewed at:

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

