Books to Screen: Artemis Fowl movie greenlit and trailers galore!

There are a ton of books coming to the big screen in the next year or two.  In addition to Ender’s Game and The Hunger Games: Catching Firefilming has just started on The Fault in Our Stars and a movie adaptation of the Artemis Fowl series has finally been greenlit by Disney Studios.  Artemis Fowl is my most beloved middle grade fantasy series ever, so I’m excited to see what they do with it.

A teaser for Divergent has also been released (read my 3.5 star review of the book).  The movie stars Shailene Woodley as Tris, the same actress who’s playing Hazel in the The Fault in Our Stars (read my 5 star review of TFiOS).  Just from this little bit, it looks like Divergent is going to be an exciting, action-packed flick.

I haven’t read Richelle Mead’s popular Vampire Academy series yet, but I’ve heard good things.  The fact that the movie is directed by Mark Waters, who also directed Mean Girls, has me intrigued.

Austenland by Shannon Hale doesn’t sound like my kind of book, but based on this cute, funny trailer, I could totally see myself loving the movie.

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff came on my radar when one of my favorite reviewers gave it a glowing recommendation.  And now that the trailer for the movie adaptation has come out, I’m even more interested.

Until I saw this jaw-droppingly awesome trailer, I’d never even heard of the books Seventh Son is based on, The Last Apprentice/Wardstone Chronicles series by Joseph Delaney.  Julianne Moore as an evil witch-dragon thingy?  Count me in!  Now I can’t wait to see the movie and read the books.

Finally, the trailer was just released for the film adaptation of Markus Zusak’s acclaimed novel The Book Thief.  Just watching the trailer made me tear up.  This is definitely a book I plan on reading before I see the film.

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

