The Twelfth Doctor is Peter Capaldi

I know I’m behind the times on this one, but I didn’t get a chance to post about it when the news first broke.  British actor Peter Capaldi is going to play the Twelfth Doctor in Doctor Who.

First of all, I love that a young Peter Capaldi drew fan art of the Doctor.  Second, many people have been lamenting this casting choice as a missed opportunity to have someone other than a white man play the Doctor, and I understand their frustration.  Personally, I was hoping for a woman actress ’cause who says the Doctor can’t be female?  (Helen Mirren and John Barrowman agree with me, btw.)  Still, this doesn’t mean I’m going to stop loving the show.  I’ve never seen him act, but I can’t wait to see Capaldi’s take on the character of the Doctor.

Matt Smith will continue playing the Doctor in the 50th anniversary special on November 23rd (alongside David Tennant), but the Doctor will regenerate during the 2013 Christmas special.  Peter Capaldi will then take over at the start of season 8 with Jenna Coleman staying on as his companion, Clara.  I remember it being hilarious watching Rose try to grapple with the Doctor’s regeneration and adapt to David Tennant’s Doctor, so I’m looking forward to some funny moments between Clara and Twelve.

What do you think of the casting choice?

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

