Neil Gaiman’s last book signing tour

On Wednesday I attended Neil Gaiman‘s book signing for his new novel The Ocean at the End of the Lane.  He and Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circustalked for about an hour, he read from Ocean, and he answered questions from the audience.  (During the Q&A, it turned out that Neil’s daughter Maddie was in attendance, asking him the question, “How many of your ideas are stolen from your kids?”)

Neil was funny, clever, and insightful – an altogether engaging speaker.  The fact that Erin Morgenstern was also there was a wonderful surprise.  She was a great host, and she generously stayed long after the talk was over to sign books.

This is Neil’s last book signing tour, and it’s easy to see why.  When I finally made it up to the stage to get my books signed, nearly an hour after the show had ended, Neil told me that he felt brain-dead.  And half the theater was still waiting their turn!  He said that he knows book signing tours make people happy, but he was glad this was his last one.  Even though it was clearly an exhausting event for Neil, I’m grateful to have had this chance (probably my last) to meet him and get my copies of Ocean and Neverwhere personalized.

Ocean has been receiving rave reviews, but the one written by Neil’s wife Amanda Palmer is perhaps my favorite.  I can’t wait to dive into this book!  Click here for the rest of Neil’s tour dates.

IMG_0534

Neil signing books after the event

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

