BEA 2013 Power Reader Recap

On Saturday, I attended Book Expo America (an annual publishing industry convention, held this year in New York City) as a Power Reader.  The first event I went to was the Adult Book & Author Breakfast where Chris Matthews, Helen Fielding, John Lewis, and Diana Gabaldon all gave highly engaging talks.  Later, I heard Neil Gaiman and comedian Jim Gaffigan talk about the new books they have coming out.  And, of course, I loved getting tons of free, signed books!

At Neil Gaiman’s session, each attendee received signed copies of Make Good Art and Fortunately, the Milk.

     

Below: Jim Gaffigan reads from Dad is Fat, a funny book about fatherhood.  As expected, the entire session was hilarious.  But one thing I was surprised to learn was that Jim and his wife actually write most of his material together.

2013-06-01 12.04.12

I also went to various signings, including editor Ellen Datlow signing copies of Hauntings and Chuck Wendig signing ARCs of Under the Empyrean Sky.  The former is a horror anthology featuring Neil Gaiman, Joyce Carrol Oats, Peter Straub, and many more outstanding authors; the latter is the first installment in a brand new middle grade trilogy with a dystopian setting.  Both of these books sound amazing.

 

At the end of the day, I left BEA with a backpack full of free books.  This was my first time attending the event, and it was extremely fun.  If you ever have the chance to attend, I highly recommend it.

So that was my weekend.  How was yours? 🙂

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in News, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

