Self-Published Book Recs?

In 2012 I read a self-published book for the first time – Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee.  I gave it a five star review on Goodreads:

This was my first experience with a self-published book, and I was shocked – Angelfall is unequivocally good. The worldbuilding flows seamlessly into the story, creating a dystopian setting that is fantastic yet believable. The plot is fast-paced, the characters multilayered, and the relationships complex and heartfelt. I fell in love with Penryn and Raffe, and I can’t wait to read more about Penryn’s family, Raffe’s backstory, the human resistance movement, and the angels’ secret plans. Overall, Angelfall is a dark, masterfully crafted, and mature novel about loyalty, brokenness, love, and survival. This is dystopian fiction done right.

I first became aware of the self-publishing trend when Amanda Hocking made it big, but I was hesitant to read a self-published book because I thought that the quality of writing and the caliber of storytelling would be disappointing. Reading Angelfall totally disproved my preconceived notions.  I’m sure there are many low quality self-published books out there, but there must also be more gems like Angelfall, and I don’t want to miss out on an awesome story just because it’s self-published.

What has been your experience with self-published books?  Any that you would you recommend? Please let me know in the comments!

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self-Published Book Recs?

  1. Pingback: Review: The Emperor’s Edge (The Emperor’s Edge #1) by Lindsay Buroker | Lesley's Reading Heaven

Leave a Reply

