Happy New Year! + 2012 Reading Wrap-up

Welcome to 2013!  Here’s to a year of happiness, love, and great successes.

Now for my 2012 reading wrap-up.  My goal last year was to read 50 books for pleasure, and I read 51!  This year I’m not setting a reading goal because, frankly, it was a little stressful making sure I was on track to complete 50 books, and the whole reason why I read is to reduce stress not add to it.  But I will still be loosely aiming for 50 again in 2013.

So here are my 2012 reading stats (compared to 2011):

  • 51 books read
  • 13,259 pages read (according to Goodreads)
  • Longest book = Cold Fire by Kate Elliott, 652 pages
  • 17 audiobooks, including 15 nonfiction
  • 1 graphic novel
  • 17 new series started
  • 27 never-before-read authors
  • Breakdown of my ratings:
    • 22 books = 5 Stars
    • 10 books = 4.5 Stars
    • 10 books = 4 Stars
    • 4 books = 3.5 Stars
    • 3 books = 3 Stars
    • 1 book = 2.5 Stars
    • 1 book = 2 Stars

This year my number of pages read dropped by about 1,500 from last year, but my audiobook count rose by 13, and audiobooks are not counted as pages read.  My increase in audiobook reading also increased the number of nonfiction titles I read from 3 in 2011 to 15 in 2012.

In addition, I read a self-published book (Angelfall by Susan Ee) for the first time, and I read a graphic novel (The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes) for the first time in over two years.

My rating distribution was also different in 2012.  This was the first year since I started tracking my reading stats in 2009 that my 5 star ratings outnumbered my 4 and 4.5 star ratings.

Overall, 2012 was an unusual but great reading year, and I hope I can keep it up in 2013!  What’s your reading goal or resolution for the new year?

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year! + 2012 Reading Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! +2013 Reading Wrap-up | Lesley's Reading Heaven

Leave a Reply

