Brooklyn Book Festival 2012

This was the first year that I attended the Brooklyn Book Festival, and it was so. much. fun.  There were tons of vendors and so many signings and panels that there was no way I could go to all the ones that caught my eye.  But I did make it to a few of the events and managed to snap some pictures.

First, I went to get my copy of Mystic River signed by Dennis Lehane, who was sitting next to Walter Mosley at the signing table.

Lehane (left) and Mosley (right)

Later, I sat in on a panel called The Dark Side about violence in fiction with authors Amelia Gray (Threats), Dennis Lehane (Moonlight Mile) and Sapphire (Push).  They were all extremely articulate and had some very thought provoking insights into how and why they use violence to convey certain messages in their work.

From left to right: Greg Cowles (moderator, New York Times Book Review), Grey, Lehane, Sapphire

I also attended a Young Adult fiction panel, which was hilarious, fun, and laid back.  The authors were Zoraida Cordova (The Vicious Deep), Natalie Standiford (Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters), Libba Bray (the Gemma Doyle trilogy), and Daniel Nayeri (Straw House, Wood House, Brick House, Blow).

From left to right: Cordova, Standiford, Bray, Nayeri

Nayeri was so funny that now I’m really interested in reading his book, and Bray was humorous but she also told the touching and inspirational story of how she got started writing.  Afterwards, I got her to sign my copy of The Diviners.

I also tried to go to a panel called Reality Denied with science fiction authors Carla Speed McNeil (Finder: Voice), Lev Grossman (The Magician King), Hillary Jordan (When She Woke) and Terry Bisson (Fire on the Mountain), but it was full by the time I arrived.  I was, however, able to go the signing and got my copy of The Magicians signed by Lev Grossman.

From left to right: Bisson, Jordan, McNeil, and Grossman

The last panel I went to was The Center for Fiction Presents Beyond Earth with authors Naomi Novik (Temeraire series), N.K. Jemisin (the Inheritance trilogy), and Rick Bowes (From the Files of the Time Rangers).  The authors read excerpts of their books and then talked about how they write and construct their fantasy worlds.  It was a fascinating discussion, and afterwards I got my copies of The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms and His Magesty’s Dragon signed by Jemisin and Novik respectively.  Unfortunately, the only photo I took turned out burry, but here it is anyway.

From left to right: Noreen Tomassi (moderator, The Center for Fiction), Jemisin, Bowes, Novik

Overall, it was a wonderful event, and I can only hope that I’ll be able to attend next year as well.

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Life, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

