FOL Spring Book Sale Recap

Last week was the biannual Friends of the Library book sale in Gainesville, Florida, one of the largest used book sales in the nation.  Since I will be graduating and moving away, this was probably the last time I’ll be able to attend this event, at least for some time. *holds back tears*  But I did bring back quite a haul this year:

  • 20 scifi/fantasy novels

  • 8 YA books

  • 5 David Sedaris books

  • 3 mystery/horror/thriller

  • 4 lit/lit fic

All in all, I bought 40 books for about $80, averaging to about $2 per book.  Not a bad year, though it’s more than I’ve ever spent at one of these sales and, for the first time, I didn’t buy anything from the Collector’s Corner.  (Like I’ve mentioned before, you can buy 40 books for $10 at one of these events, but I tend to go for the newer, higher priced books.)

For bibliophiles, the FOL book sale is a magical experience that makes you feel like a kid on Christmas morning.  I’m glad I was able to make my last one special.

So, any other used book store fans out there?  Got any good deals lately?  Anything in one these piles you think I should read next? 😀  Let me know in the comments!

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Life, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FOL Spring Book Sale Recap

  1. beckyday6 says:

    :O I’m drooling right now, I’m so jealous of all your lovely books! I wish I could go to a sale like that, I’d be in heaven.

    • Lesley says:

      Branches of FOL exist all across the country and they hold book sales to help support libraries. You can probably Google it to see if there’s one in your area. The one in Gainesville is just really, really huge. 😛

Leave a Reply

