Should I read A Game of Thrones? +funny video

Even though I’m not a huge fan of epic fantasy (I blame my pathetically short attention span) this video parodying George R.R. Martin kind of makes me want to give the guy’s books a chance.

Not to mention, everybody’s been saying that the television show Game of Thrones is amazing.  But should I read the book first (which, knowing my reading habits, will take several months of blood, sweat, and tears)?  Will the book be spoiled for me if I watch the show first?  Will I even be able to appreciate the show without having read the book?  I’m torn!

If you’ve read or watched A Game of Thrones, let me know what you think.  I’m going to an archaeological site for the next several days, so enjoy your week and I’ll respond to comments as soon as I can! 🙂

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Should I read A Game of Thrones? +funny video

  1. Doug says:

    In spite of how much I enjoyed the first book, I know watching season one beforehand can make reading it a chore. The HBO series fulfills so much of what Martin does well in his books (intriguing plotting and characters), your reading will only emphasize the less appealing aspects of his writing, such as the repetitive filler (I wish that video’s food bit were an exaggeration). If you can’t wait to watch the series, see season one, pick up the reading with A Clash of Kings, and you should be fine.

    • Lesley says:

      Thank you so much for the input, Doug! Long-winded descriptions are my Achilles’ heel when it comes to reading. Maybe if the show gets me invested in the plot and characters though, I’ll have enough momentum to help me plow through book 2. I really do want to get into this series!

  2. maudlin says:

    Will I even be able to appreciate the show without having read the book?
    YES. Most definitely. Reading is not for everyone; especially Martin’s kind of detailed and drawn-out kind of historical fantasy writing is not for everyone. The show is quite great and I think it appeals to everyone who likes epic stories, knights, kings, and, well, good-looking people.

    Will the book be spoiled for me if I watch the show first?
    Depends on your interpretation of the word ‘spoiler’ – yes, the show will spoil as in reveal things about the book, but it will not spoil as in ruin the book. The book is able to provide much more background information than the show, of course, which makes it worthwhile to me to read the books.

    I personally read the book first and then watched the show, and I intend to do the same with future seasons. I’d recommend you just start with whichever you feel like more. If you want to watch, watch; if you want to read, read. But definitely watch. …okay, and read at least enough in order for you to decide whether you should read-and-watch or just watch.

    Wow, I’m so articulate today… ahem. Sorry about that!

    • Lesley says:

      Thank you for the excellent advice! I’m never going to know if the books are for me unless I at least give them a try. But if I get too bogged down and can’t finish… well, then I might as well just watch the show and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

