Book vending machine

I was digging through some old travel photos and I came across this picture I took in an airport in Scotland around 2007.

Yes, that’s right.  It’s a book vending machine.

I took the photo because this seemed like such an oddity to me.  But, thinking about this more, I wonder if there’s something wrong with that fact that books can now be dispensed out of a machine like junk food snacks.

What do you think about this?  Are these even still around?  Ever seen one?

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book vending machine

  1. robincoyle says:

    It does “cheapen” the whole thing. Plus, I am a tactile person and even with books, I need to touch them before I buy them. I guess I got over that a bit with ordering books on-line, but you know what I mean? I like to look at the author’s picture, flip pages, read the reviews, inside flap, and the first page or two. Impossible when they are dispensed like Snicker’s.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Hmmm, doesn’t sound like a bad thing if you already know what you’re looking for. Kind of like how Redboxes work—usually people already have a movie in mind. But hey, cheap or not, anything that gets someone to read is a good thing!

    • Lesley says:

      That’s an interesting perspective! I can see what you mean. I guess I just want to believe that books are too special to be dispensed out of a machine like movies or food or other things that provide temporary, superficial pleasure… but I tend to be sentimental about books. 😛

      • Stephanie says:

        I think a lot of people are that way: Many of us prefer print books to e-books because of the feel and smell, after all. But I think most of all what’s important is just reading, and in that case it doesn’t matter what format a book is on, as long as the pages are being read. I think book vending machines would be great for people in a hurry and people who don’t normally read books—they’re less likely to go into a bookstore or visit a library, or maybe even own an e-reader, but they might see the machine and decide to give a book a try.

      • Lesley says:

        That’s a very good point. I sometimes forget that not everyone in the world is a hard-core reader.

Leave a Reply

