Best comic books or graphic novels?

I recently read the first volume of Neil Gaiman‘s Sandman comics, and I really enjoyed it!  (Thank you, Liz, for the recommendation!)  Before this, the only other graphic novel I’d read was Welcome to the Jungle, which I was predisposed to like because I’m a huge Dresden Files fangirl.  But with The Sandman, I had no background.  At first, the graphic novel format was jarring because I am so unused to it.  But, ultimately, I ended up loving it.  As I said in my review:

I generally enjoy horror novels, but the the pairing of words and images gives The Sandman an inescapable immediacy that makes it much more disturbing than a regular novel.

As always, Neil Gaiman’s writing is amazing, but it really can’t be considered apart from the artwork; the words an images are inextricable.

So, now that I’m beginning to appreciate the graphic novel format, I’d love to know what comic books or graphic novels should be on my reading list.  I’ve heard of Alan Moore because I’ve seen the movies Watchmen and V for Vendetta, but are there other works of his that are must-reads?  One issue of Sandman features John Constantine, who seems different enough from the character Keanu Reeves played to have me intrigued.  Has anyone read Hellblazer?

In short, if you like comics, I’d love to know which ones you think I should read (besides the rest of Sandman).  I like horror, mystery, and scifi/fantasy.

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Best comic books or graphic novels?

  1. I haven’t read as much recently, but what I have read is what you listed above, in addition to The Walking Dead (some of my favorite literature ever!) and Y: The Last Man (also phenomenal). I read the Buffy the Vampire Slayer graphic novels as well, but I’m not sure I’d be doing that if I hadn’t watched the show.

    I enjoyed the first couple dozen issues of Invincible, but I haven’t managed to get back into it in the last month or so.

    I need to remember to give Sandman a shot. My S.O. can’t believe I haven’t already!

    • Lesley says:

      Cool! I’ll put The Walking Dead and Invincible on my list. The first one I’ve been hearing a lot about because of the TV show The Walking Dead that recently came out. I’d never heard of Invincible, but I just looked it up and it sounds fun!

      Oh man, I’ve been meaning to give Buffy a re-watch for years. Maybe instead (or in addition) I’ll pick up the graphic novels…

      Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂

  2. Stephanie says:

    Depends what you like, really. Do you prefer superheroes or something more indie (you’ll find a lot of non-superhero stuff from publishers like Image Comics, Dark Horse, IDW Publishing, Vertigo, etc.). Here are some of my favorites (I’m a comics gal): Chew, I Kill Giants, Hellboy (it’s all good, pretty much), Buffy the Vampire Slayer (if you’ve watched the TV show), Locke and Key (this is horror/supernatural), Luthor, Madame Xanadu, Air, Starman (by James Robinson—kind of sci-fiy/superheroey in a way), Batman: The Long Halloween (and its spiritual successor, Dark Victory), The Sword, The Umbrella Academy, Fantastic Four: Unstable Molecules, Daytripper, iZombie (it’s got, well, zombies), Scott Pilgrim, Sweet Tooth (post-apocalyptic)… *breathes* 🙂 Happy reading, and glad you’re starting to get into the medium! It’s wonderful and has a lot more to offer than people might think.

    • Lesley says:

      Wow, thanks for the recommendations! It looks like you have a quite a variety of favorites. Since I’m just getting started reading comics, I really don’t know what I like yet, and I’m looking forward to trying different types.

      I’ve heard of a few of the things you mentioned, mainly because of movies and television. I’ve also heard of Locke and Key because I read (and loved) a novel written by the same guy, so that one’s definitely going on the list. I’ll do some research into the ones I haven’t heard of, which should be fun and enlightening. 🙂 Thanks, again!

Leave a Reply

