Bookish News #11

It’s been a while since I did a Bookish News post, so I have a lot of links coming your way.  Enjoy. 🙂

SOPA stopped; ACTA signed

Following the largest Internet protest in history, congressmen and women withdrew their support from SOPA, killing the bill.  Give yourselves a pat on the back, people of the Internet!

But wait!  What’s all this about the United Sates signing a trade agreement that could be way worse than SOPA?  How did I not know about this???  Read more about ACTA, and sign the petition.

Speaking of WTFery, have you seen this video yet?  I have no idea what to make of this, but what if what he’s saying is really true? O_o

Also, check out this video from author Neil Gaiman on copyright and piracy.

Musician Jonathan Coulton (creator of Code Monkey and Re: Your Brains) also has some interesting thoughts on copyright and the shutdown of MegaUpload that are worth reading.

Authors’ thoughts on writing and reading

Chloe Neill, author of the Chicagoland Vampires series, has a series a blog posts about her writing process, from brainstorming, to outlining, to completing the manuscript.  This might be worth a read if you’re thinking of writing a novel.

Likewise, author Carrie Vaughn has some advice to writers that struck me as very useful.

Finally, I wanted to share this interesting and hilarious post by author John Scalzi about what he calls “the flying snowman.”  I’ve encountered a few flying snowmen in my reading days.  What about you?

Jim C. Hines is awesome

Did you see this awesome post author Jim C. Hines did on depictions of strong female characters on book covers?  I love this so much.

Here are a few more of my favorite posts from Jim:

Yet more author meltdowns

I’m not going to recap all of the insanity that has been taking place over the last few weeks.  Other bloggers have done that.  And frankly, I don’t really care.  These kinds of arguments and blowups are getting old.

However, some good has come out of the situation, namely author Meljean Brook‘s Diary of an Author, a biting and hilarious satire of all the author drama that’s been going on.  It’s spot-on and absolutely perfect.  To get the full effect, read Day 1 first, and then continue with Day 2, 3, 4, and 5.

After all this madness with authors and reviewers at each other’s throats, I have to give huge props to author Kate Elliot who linked to a one star of review of her book, and said:

I want to note that this is a very thoughtful review by a careful reader, thus proving the adage that just about any review that engages thoughtfully with the material is a “good review” regardless of whether the reviewer ultimately liked or disliked the book.

Thank you, Ms. Elliott!  Sometimes authors don’t feel that way. (And for the record, I’m currently reading Cold Fire, the book that garnered the one-star review she mentioned, and I’m loving it.)

Author updates

Jim Butcher is writing a steampunk fantasy series???  YES.  And he has several other projects in the works too…

Aidan from the awesome book blog A Dribble of Ink has an update on author Scott Lynch.  I hope Lynch’s situation improves (and not just because I want him to write more books).

Random news

The other day, I went to list a book for swap on Goodreads and discovered that the site got rid of the Bookswap program.  I’m rather sad about this.  Maybe I’ll try Paperback Swap instead.  Anyone know any good book swapping sites?

SciFiGuy is back!!!  He’s one of the best book bloggers around, and now he’s back after being on hiatus!  I’m extremely excited about this.

Check out this Grant Snider comic entitled Works of Fiction.  It’s funny and almost painfully true.

Scenes from Avatar: The Legend of Korra!!!  Okay, okay, this isn’t book related, but it’s still awesome.  Is anyone else really excited for this show?

Nerdfighter news

John and Hank have been touring the country in this awesome van, singing songs, hanging out with Nerdfighters, and getting shocked.  They also did an AMA on reddit.  I so wish I could have gone to a Nerfighter gathering this year!

Also, I’ve been watching Hank’s SciShow (awesome), and the first episode of Crash Course is now out!

Awesome book covers

Covers just came out for upcoming installments in the Alex Craft series by Kalayna Price and the Charlie Madigan series by Kelly Gay.  Behold:

     

Both of these series rock, and I can’t wait to read Grave Memory (coming out July 3rd 2012) and Shadows Before the Sun (to be released July 31st 2012).

Sorry for the excessive length of this post.  But now I’m all caught up!  😀

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bookish News #11

  1. bibliopirate says:

    If anyone wonders why I love Neil Gaiman, this video can give you an idea.

Leave a Reply

