Review: Chill Factor (Weather Warden #3) by Rachel Caine

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Publisher: Roc (January 4th 2005)
How I got this book: Bought
Links: Amazon Goodreads

Blurb from Goodreads:

Weather Warden Joanne Baldwin has protected the human race from monster storms, been killed, reborn as a Djinn, and then restored to her original form. Now she’s throwing the dice to stop an infinitely powerful, deeply disturbed kid-who is holed up in a Vegas hotel-from bringing on a new ice age.

My rating: 3.5/5 Stars – Could’ve been better, but I liked it overall.

Review:

Chill Factor is the third, highly entertaining installment in the Weather Warden series.  Just like the first two books, this one had me hooked from the start.  It’s fast paced and filled with action.  I could barely put it down!  That said, I don’t think Chill Factor is quite as strong as the first two books.  Joanne is basically helpless for almost the entire story, always getting manhandled or manipulated by the people around her.  It’s frustrating to watch her run out of choices and not be able to do anything even when she knows that she’s a pawn in someone else’s game.  At one point, there’s even a brutal act of violence committed against her that seems completely unnecessary and wrong for the story.  It irked me that such a strong female character like Joanne is so powerless for most of the book.

Though Joanne remains just as stubborn and feisty as usual, there’s a lot of changes happening with the other characters.  Some of these changes are good; for example, Joanne gains a new ally who’s totally badass.  But some of the character developments just made me angry or confused.  I wanted to strangle Lewis and Paul, and David does something extremely douchey to Joanne in the name of love.  Not to mention, both Kevin and Jonathan behave in really confusing ways.  One minute they’re helping Joanne, the next they’re trying to kill her, and back and forth until you don’t know what they’re thinking.  I’d rather read about multifaceted, dynamic characters than paper-thin ones, but, still, some of the character development in this book is not understandable or satisfying.

But despite my criticisms, I did enjoy Chill Factor.  It retains the fantastic worldbuilding and fun combination of drama, action, comedy, and romance that first drew me in to the series.  The plot is full of twists and turns, and even though Joanne is a little slow on the uptake (again), the revelation of the villain’s identity managed to surprise me.  Several plot threads are left hanging in the end, setting up major conflicts for future installments and making me eager to pick up book four.  Overall, Chill Factor is not as good as the first two books, but it’s still a decent read and part of an awesome urban fantasy series.

Reading Order:

  1. Ill Wind – read my review
  2. Heat Stroke – read my review
  3. Chill Factor
  4. Windfall
  5. Fire Storm
  6. Thin Air
  7. Gale Force
  8. Cape Storm
  9. Total Eclipse
About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

