Stuck on the second book

Have you ever read the first book in a series and loved it, but somehow you never manage to read the rest of the series?  This has happened to me quite a bit.  Here are some examples:

Stephen King's Dark Tower series (my review of The Gunslinger)

Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker's Guide series (my review of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy)

Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles (my review of Interview With the Vampire)

Ender's Saga by Orson Scott Card (my review of Ender's Game)

Dean Koontz' Odd Thomas series (my review of Odd Thomas)

Jim Butcher's Codex Alera series (my review of Furies of Calderon)

I greatly enjoyed the first installments in each of these series, yet I never made it to book two.  There are a number of possible reasons for this, including not having enough time, short attention span, constantly being attracted to new books, or just not being in the right reading mood.  (Some of these hang-ups are also why I occasionally stall on good books.)

But, ultimately, I think there are two main reasons why I can't get past the first book in certain series.  1) The series is so long and the books themselves are so thick that the idea of reading them all seems like a massive undertaking.  I feel as if I will never find the time or the energy to finish the series, so why even bother with the second book?  2) I fear that subsequent installments won't be as good as the first.  I'd rather not read the second book at all if it's only going to ruin my love for the first one.

I know that these feelings are probably holding me back from reading some great books, so I'm trying to work on overcoming that second-in-series slump.  I recently finished Heat Stroke, the second book in Rachel Caine's Weather Warden series, and I absolutely loved it!  The first book, Ill Wind, rocked my socks off, but it took me well over a year to get around to reading book two.  I'm so glad that I finally did!  Hopefully I can build on this success to continue reading more awesome second-in-series books!

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

