Review: Ghost Story (The Dresden Files #13) by Jim Butcher

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Roc (July 26th 2011)
How I got this book: Bought
Links: Amazon Goodreads

Blurb from Goodreads:

The eagerly awaited new novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Dresden Files series.

When we last left the mighty wizard detective Harry Dresden, he wasn’t doing well. In fact, he had been murdered by an unknown assassin.

But being dead doesn’t stop him when his friends are in danger. Except now he has nobody, and no magic to help him. And there are also several dark spirits roaming the Chicago shadows who owe Harry some payback of their own.

To save his friends-and his own soul-Harry will have to pull off the ultimate trick without any magic…

My rating:5/5 Stars – Loved it! It totally rocked my socks off.

Review:

I’ve been looking forward to the release of the thirteenth Dresden Files book for months, and I’m happy to say that it lived up to my very high expectations!  Ghost Story is undoubtedly the most different novel in the series because it’s much more introspective.  Being dead gives Harry a lot of time to think, reflect on his recent choices, and remember the distant past.  In some ways, Ghost Story is just as much of a transitional novel as Changes in that Harry finally has a chance to slow down, consider the events of the last book, and decide what to do next.

It’s awesome to watch Harry becoming wiser, his character growing more and more with each new challenge or trauma he must face.  As a ghost, Harry’s powerlessness to affect the physical world heightens the story’s suspense.  You can truly feel his frustration and despair at not being able to aid his friends or prevent the chaos that threatens to engulf his city.  However, Harry is still as stubborn as ever, and he refuses to give up, leading to moments of hope and triumph that had me punching the air and shouting, “Yes!”

In addition to lots of little clues about particular characters and ongoing mysteries, Ghost Story also has a major twist that I did not see coming.  It makes perfect sense, yet it completely surprised me!  The story ends on a high note – I actually cheered out loud – and leaves the reader desperate for more.  In short, I’ve come to expect brilliance from each new installment in The Dresden Files series, and Ghost Story did not disappoint.  I laughed, I cried, I was glued to the edge of my seat, and I enjoyed every moment of it.  This is storytelling at its absolute finest.

Reading Order:
You can find the complete Dresden Files reading list on Jim Butcher’s website.  Trust me; this series is worth reading from the beginning.  You can also check out my reviews of Small Favor, Turn Coat, and Changes (books 10-12) as well as Backup (novella), Welcome to the Jungle (graphic novel), and Side Jobs (short stories) on Goodreads.
About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

