Review: Magic Slays (Kate Daniels #5) by Ilona Andrews

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Publisher: Ace (May 31st 2011)
How I got this book: Bought
Links: Amazon Goodreads

 
Blurb from Goodreads:

Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.

Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be—now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate.

So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it—fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price…

My rating: 4.5/5 Stars – Almost perfect. I highly recommend it.

Review:

Another great installment in the Kate Daniels series!  This action packed adventure lives up to the high standards set by the previous books.  It is emotional and somewhat depressing as the truth about Kate’s family is revealed and her relationship with Curran is put to the test.  But I love the character development that we see in this book.  Kate is clearly growing up, learning how to take responsibility and be the leader, friend, spouse, and parent that she needs to be.

Once you get past the constant recapping, the story has an exciting plot.  I loved the fight scenes and the parts where Kate gets to use her magic.  I also like that we finally get some answers about Kate’s mother, a mystery I’ve been eager to uncover since book one.  With new dangers, new allies, and new opportunities for Kate to develop her powers, there are bound to be some exciting future twists in the overarching storyline.  Indeed, the developments in Magic Slays move Kate even closer to the inevitable confrontation with Roland, the story’s ultimate villain.

Even though I greatly enjoyed this book, I must admit that something Kate does in the end really creeped me out.  I know the ending is supposed to be happy and uplifting, but I couldn’t help pondering the consequences of Kate’s actions and wondering if what she does is worth it.  I found the entire scene (you’ll know which one I’m talking about) deeply disturbing, so much so that it’s still giving me the chills.  Despite the creepy ending and the grim revelations, bright spots of romance and humor interspersed throughout the story prevent the book from becoming unbearably dark.  Overall, Magic Slays is a wonderful addition to one of my favorite urban fantasy series, and I’m already looking forward to book six.

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

