Books Galore!!!

Last week was the semiannual Friends of the Library Book Sale in Gainesville, the largest used book sale in Florida and one of the biggest in the nation.  This, my friends, is an event I always mark on my calendar so I can count down the days until it’s here.  It’s held in a warehouse with thousands of books, all priced between $0.25 and $5.  It’s a bibliophile’s wet dream.

The sale starts at 9 AM on on a Saturday and runs through Wednesday.  When I got there at 7:30 on the first day, the line to get in was already halfway down the block.  Once inside, it’s wall-to-wall people.  Everyone comes prepared with huge boxes and bags, and the isles become so jammed you practically have to wait in line to shuffle past the rows of books.  And if you see a book you want, you must grab it – fast.  It’s like Black Friday in there.

But seriously, the book sale is one of my favorite things ever.  I got 25 books for $40.  Woo hoo!  After the sale, I hightailed it over to my local Borders, which was closing the very next day, and got 7 new books for $20.  Will I read all 32 books I purchased that fateful Saturday?  Probably not.  But that hardly matters when book shopping is so damn fun.

But I have to say… if my TBR pile grows any higher, it will become overwhelming and unmanageable.  Guess I’ve got some readin’ to do 😉

Here are a few pictures from the sale.  These were taken on the fourth day of the sale, half price day, so to get an idea of what the first day is like, imagine hundreds of people filling this space and even more books crammed under tables and on additional shelves.  (Yes, that’s right, I went back to the sale on Tuesday for round two, even after I bought all those books on Saturday.  I realize I may have an addiction.  DON’T JUDGE ME.)

book sale 1book sale 2

Ahhh, the mystery section.  The books are divided into different sections, but within that section, the books are completely jumbled.  They’re in some kind of order for the first hour or so, but it all goes to pieces as the volunteers begin restocking the shelves as fast as they can.  I always appreciate that they don’t put out all the new books at once, but try to spread them out throughout the day.  Did I mention they also sell music and DVDs?  And you thought this shindig couldn’t get any more awesome.

book sale 3
 

Above is a picture of the Collector’s Corner where they sell rare, old, and expensive books.  I’ve found some pretty neat stuff in there before, like cool, illustrated editions of Beowulf and The Canterbury Tales from the early 1900s.  Funny story… at a previous book sale I picked up a hardcover copy of In Cold Blood in the fiction section that didn’t have a price on it.  I asked a volunteer how much is cost, and she took it to someone to find out.  Turns out the book was a first edition worth thousand of dollars.  They wouldn’t give it back to me, but at least I got to hold it!

book sale 4
 

So that’s the FOL Book Sale, my favorite event besides Christmas.  I’ve got some reviews and some fun stuff to post in the coming week, so keep an eye out.  Peace.
About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books Galore!!!

  1. Pingback: Friends of the Library Book Sale ’11 | Lesley's Reading Heaven

  2. Pingback: FOL Spring Book Sale Recap | Lesley's Reading Heaven

Leave a Reply

