Review: River Marked (Mercedes Thompson #6) by Patricia Briggs

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Ace (March 1st 2011)

How I got this book: Bought
Links: Amazon Goodreads
 
Blurb from Goodreads:

Car mechanic Mercy Thompson has always known there was something different about her, and not just the way she can make a VW engine sit up and beg. Mercy is a shapeshifter, a talent she inherited from her long-gone father. She’s never known any others of her kind. Until now.

An evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River-one that her father’s people may know something about. And to have any hope of surviving, Mercy and her mate, the Alpha werewolf Adam, will need their help…

My rating: 4.5/5 Stars – Almost perfect. I highly recommend it.

Review:
 

The most recent installment in Briggs’ engrossing Mercy Thompson series finally tackles the big questions surrounding Mercy’s heritage.  There are some surprising revelations, and I think fans of the series will be pleased with the direction Briggs takes.  The plot is filled with intense action, heartfelt romance, and deeply emotional moments.  Though it didn’t have me in tears like the last book, River Marked is still quite poignant at times.  The suspense kept me hooked from beginning to end, as events build up to an epic throw down.
 
I like that the story focuses on Mercy and Adam.  The supporting cast is fantastic, and all my favorite characters do have their cameos at the beginning.  But with Mercy and Adam entering a new phase in their relationship, I’m glad that the two of them get most of the page time.  In the first part of the book, we finally get to see them happy and enjoying each others’ company without a bunch of distractions, a nice change that brings out a new side to both of them.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story.  It’s different from the other books in the series, taking us into the past and introducing us to a new mythology and fresh, interesting characters.  It’s not perfect, but I love this series too much to nitpick.  River Marked is a great read, and fans of this series won’t be disappointed.
 

Reading Order:
Moon Called
Blood Bound

Iron Kissedread my review on Goodreads
Bone Crossedread my review on Goodreads
Silver Bourneread my review on Goodreads
River Marked

Also reviewed at:
The Book Smugglers – 8/10
Fiction Vixen – 4/5
That’s What I’m Taking About… – 4.5/5
Smexy Books – B
All Things Urban Fantasy – 4/5
Tynga’s Reviews
Dirty Sexy Books – 3/5

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

