J.K. Rowling announces next book (Bookish news #12)

There are a few pieces of news I’d like to share with you today.  First, J.K. Rowling has announced that her next book will be a novel for adults, published through Little, Brown.  No details yet, but I’m already excited!

Secondly, award-winning author N.K. Jemisin has written an outstanding essay about what it’s like to be an African American writer of epic fantasy.  It’s truly a must read.

In other news, CBS has cast Jonny Lee Miller as the star of its modernized, Sherlock Holmes reboot.  As a huge fan of the BBC show Sherlock, which is written by the amazing Stephen Moffat, I’m not sure how I feel about CBS trying to do its own, Americanized version.  Although I liked Miller in Eli Stone, will he really be as good as Benedict Cumberbatch is in the role of the iconic detective?

Finally, I wanted to mention the recent news about the Romance Writers of America and Romance Writers Ink allowing their chapters to discriminate against same-sex fiction in their contests.  Although I don’t read romance, this kind of thing really bothers me.  In my opinion, there’s nothing wrong with same-sex pairings in literature and refusing to accept stories based on that one element only promotes bigotry and intolerance.

More articles that might be of interest…

If you have a moment, let me know what you think of today’s news stories in the comments.  And have a great day!

About Lesley

I love big dogs, ravioli, and all things nerdy. Books are my crack.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to J.K. Rowling announces next book (Bookish news #12)

  1. Pingback: Book News and New Releases | The Lit Witch: A Book Blog

Leave a Reply

